Living the Outdoor Life – Stepping Out of Your Comfort Zone

It has been a while since I last posted something on my blog. Life has been pretty crazy lately with the change of job and the move around. So I no longer live in New York City and so far I have relocated a few times for work – Boston, Bangkok and then now in Seattle.

So I have been in Seattle for about three months now and so far, they can easily be one of the best times in my life. I have come to learn so much about myself and discovered things that I thought I would never be able to do. I started hiking and running on a regular basis. I feel pretty good and renewed everyday.

Living the outdoor life makes me look at life in a different perspective. I have been a city girl and had not done much of the outdoor stuff except scuba diving. Living in Seattle opens up a whole new world for me. Getting out and run on weekdays and up the mountain on weekends have been really rewarding. It makes me aware of myself more by knowing how far I can go and how far I am willing to go.

Recently, I went hiking in the North Cascades at Heliotrope Ridge. I saw a whole bunch of ice climbers out on the Coleman Glacier (Featured picture of this post). I thought I would never be able to do anything like that but for me, I would never know until I try it so I decided to sign up for a Learn to Climb class at REI here in Seattle – had my class today and I love it. Another step toward mountaineering and ice-climbing :).

IMG_0504

Fon climbing

IMG_0513

Don’t let fear overcomes you and don’t underestimate yourself. If you want it, you have to work for it. That is the motto I live by. Climbing is a fun activity in itself but to me it is more than that. It signifies how I am stretching my limit, how I don’t let my fear or weakness takes over when I know how to get to the top.

Try doing things outside of your comfort zone and you will be amazed.

2 responses to “Living the Outdoor Life – Stepping Out of Your Comfort Zone

    • Hi Inger,

      Thank you for visiting! I have looked at your blog and it is really awesome, you are quite fortunate to be able to go to places you have been (and will be going). Stay warm in Canada!

      Fon

So..what do you think? :)

