Mediterranean with a Twist at Balaboosta NYC

Pretty much the best Schnitzel I have ever had (so far)

One thing I love about New York City is the number of restaurants it has to offer. USA today claims that if a person tries out a new restaurant everyday, he/she will not have tried them all 12 years later. My goal during the time in NYC is to explore as many restaurants as I can and write about them on my blog. And oh, how many have I written about it so far? 5?… Apparently I have a longggggg way to go ūüôā

New York is for sure a culinary heaven for gourmands and gourmets alike. You can find so many different ethnic restaurants along with traditional American places, you know, hot dogs, pizza, and burgers. During the past two years I have been in this beautiful state of New York, having a chance to hang out with lots of friends from different nationalities, I have become more open minded toward ethnic food in general (apart from Japanese and Chinese that have always been my favorite).

When I was out and about a couple weeks ago in the Soho/Nolita area, I stumbled upon this cute Middle Eastern/Mediterrenean restaurant at the corner of Spring and Mulberry street. I also remember reading about this restaurant from somewhere and it looked very nice from the outside. It was well past lunch time so there were not a lot of people in there except a few tables. The restaurant is not very big and I think people usually go in a party of maximum 4 people.

The outside of the restaurant.

The inside of the restaurant has a mix of contemporary and rustic atmosphere – often seen a lot in trendy New York restaurants.

Let’s see…What’s for lunch today? For lunch, there is only an ample selection of 4-5 menus each under small plates, appetizers, sandwiches, and entrees. So I went in extremely hungry and decided to go for a¬†Corn Flake Crusted Chicken Schnitzel with Saffron A√Įoli, Israeli Couscous and Green Salad. For full menu check their website.

Corn Flake Crusted Chicken Schnitzel with Saffron A√Įoli, Israeli Couscous and Green Salad. Honestly, this is the best schnitzel I have had in my life – even better than those countless of schnitzels I had in Vienna. What makes this so special is the corn flakes that are coated around the meat. The corn flakes were a little bit sweet therefore gave the meat a little bit of twist.¬†

The olive oil vinaigrette salad was also well mixed with the right amount of dressing, together with the delicious saffron cous cous made it a great side for the schnitzel. The schnitzel sauce was also very very delicious. Although it was a little bit pricey ($16), it is worth it. I definitely will have to go back there again.

I had a great time with the food and the service at Balaboosta. The staff were very friendly. I would definitely go back there again – a 9/10 experience!

XXOO,

Fon

Balaboosta
214 Mulberry St
(between Spring St & Prince St)
New York, NY 10012
www.balaboostanyc.com

Yelp rating: 4

So..what do you think? :)

