Reliving a Movie Scene at Cafe Lalo

Where NY152 Met Shopgirl for the First Time

I don’t know if you know which movie I am talking about but if you don’t I would not blame you because it is from soooo long ago – when internet was still a dial-up and Facebook was still a dream.

Screenshot from http://www.leavemethewhite.com/caps/displayimage.php?album=216&pos=393 / You’ve Got Mail 1998 – Warner Brothers

Yes, that’s right. I am talking about the once-sensational “You’ve Got Mail” with Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks – such a cute romantic movie with two great actors. Having a chance to hang around Upper West Side and learnt that I did not stay so far from the coffee shop which was a filming location for the movie, I felt like I should see it. I know – I am a mass person! Many people actually come here for the same experience.

The neon sign of the cafe from outside.

The exterior of the cafe. The cafe actually capitalized on it being featured in You’ve Got Mail, you can see the poster of screenshots from the movie hanging outside to attract customers. They even have souvenirs like screened t-shirts and postcards available.

The interior of the cafe. I love the exposed brick wall and the vintage French/Italian product posters.This reminds me of cafes in France.

Many types of cakes are available. They all looked soooooooo good…I just wanted to have a bit of everything! But because I had a late brunch at Piccolo Cafe so this wish was just a dream T_T.

Besides all those yummy cakes , they also have pastries and various types of cupcakes available. Other than that, they also have breakfast, lunch, and dinner menu.

Pastry.

Foamy hot cappuccino ($4) that my friend ordered.

Lalo Paradise ($7), an ice-blend with mango, papaya, pineapple, kiwi,Banana, cantaloupe and strawberries. It is in fact a regular smoothie, nothing very exciting about it when compared to the very exciting price :(. As you can see, they also have their own sugar packet. I love the Henri-Toulouse Lautrec – inspired logo artwork – very classy and chic in my opinion! 🙂

Tres Leches cake ($7.5 per slice), easily the star of the night. In fact, it is one of the most delicious desserts I have ever had. It appeared to have a very dense texture but it was surprisingly light. The condensed milk sauce was amaaaaaaaaaaaaazinnnnnnnnnnnng. It was not too sweet and it definitely tasted better than how good it looked! Everything was so right about it. I could really have the whole pound for myself and I am not even just saying it. 10 out of 10! 😀

Although the waitresses seemed to be a bit less professional, I actually had a great time there. If I happen to live in the neighborhood in the future, I will definitely make a case to go to this place at least twice a month. It is a late night and even early morning opener. Apart from it drawing a lot of tourists, it actually provides great dessert, I really recommend you stopping by this place whenever you are in the neighborhood.

Hope you enjoy the post! 🙂

XOXO,

Fon

Cafe Lalo
201 West 83rd St.
New York, NY 10024
www.cafelalo.com

Monday-Thursday: 8am-2am

Friday: 8am-4am
Saturday: 9am-4am

Sunday: 9am-2am
Holidays until 4am

2 responses to “Reliving a Movie Scene at Cafe Lalo

  1. Looks like cake heaven. If I’m in the neighborhood, I’ll definitely give it a go. Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

    • Hi!

      Hope you are coping up alright over Sandy. It is so sad to see the city like this. At least we are very resilient in trying to get things back up and running again.

      Cafe Lalo is pretty amazing. I went there again last week to have chocolate mousse cake – it’s amazing. It is a cute place and a tourist attraction so when you come here do not be scared by amount of people in the shop 😀 Also if you like traditional Italian cakes and baked goods and if you do not already know about it, Cafe Veniero near St. Marks – you will have to go (I also reviewed it on my blog). This place is truly awesome. Give it a go once the Sandy effect is gone 🙂

      Fon

So..what do you think? :)

