Dessert fans never go wrong at the Legendary Veniero’s NYC.

Serving New Yorkers with a Sweet Tooth Since 1894 and Still Going Strong

Starting from A big roasted chicken baquette at the Smile on Bond Street,  a nice Italian meal with friends at Focacceria on McDougal and Bleecker, a heavenly wild boar burger at Bare burger, a fine gelato sampler at Amorino near Union Square, a Mexican duck dish at La Palapa on St.Marks and a fresh sushi platter at Kanoyama – This trip to New York City has been a very culinary (and fattening) one! I think over a week there, I gained at least 3-5 pounds (after walking it off for at least 3-4 miles a day so I don’t even want to imagine what it would be like had I not walked it off :D).

To bring my culinary experience in NYC to the highest height and to gain a few more pounds I called my friend, John Tang ( a BIG NYC Foodie and an avid self-taught chef) to ask for dessert place recommendation (After he had brought me to Bare burger and Amorino the night before) after I just had the meal at Kanoyama. The god of fatness actually was on my side that night because I was not too far from the place where John recommended (Great, I only have to walk a block to the dessert place – what happened to my walking-it-all-off justification!?!). The last thing John said on the phone is “Hey Fon, that place is huge and has so many things to choose from, you will spend at least 30 minutes just to decide what you want.” 

John never joked about food, and this time neither did he.

John sure did abuse my tummy again.

Veniero’s Pasticceria

Veniero’s Pasticceria is a bakery store that was opened in 1892 and they have been making awesome Italian desserts ever since. It has both a big take home counter and more than 50 seats for eat-in customers. The shop has this old school, rustic and old time elegant feel with its stained glass and copper stamped ceiling, marble floor and dark wood decoration. It attracts a lot of different types of clientele – tourists and local alike. It certainly does have a more homy feeling than places like Magnolia or usual hip bakeries in the west or east village do. I love this place – nothing fancy, they purely attract people by their desserts alone – totally straight to the point.

There were a lot of people when we got there, both at the take home counter and at the seating area. We had to wait for a good 15 minute to get the seats.

Here are some of the heavenly looking desserts they had in store :):

Different types of baked goods and pastries. I never got to taste any of these though I wish I did but my stomach did not really have so much room left.

After 15 minutes of waiting, we were seated. The atmosphere reminds me of  Louis Comfort Tiffany’s stained glass art.

4 pages menu (including the cover) contains list of desserts and beverages in tiny letters. Now I know why John said it would take at least half an hour to decide on what to order.

A killer chocolate mousse cake, extremely heavy and loaded with calories but it is soooooooooooooo goooooooooood….

Although John said I should try their signature Tiramisu, I opted for the strawberry cheesecake. I am not really a big fan of coffee and I feel like if I am in New York, I have to try the New York cheesecake. I was not disappointed. It is everything what a cheesecake should be! And of course, with big and plump strawberries!!!! The cheesecake itself is not too sweet and it is very creamy…YUM!

Freshness, taste and quality guaranteed!!!!!

In the end, the bill came at about $20 – not bad for two pieces of “freaking awesome” cakes, a San Pellegrino Orange Italian Soda and a Jamaican coffee. This is a MUST dessert venue in New York City for those who are crazy about classic Italian desserts. Veniero’s will not let you down!

Thank you John Tang for the awesome recommendation! Thank you all for visiting my post. If you have any questions or would love to share your experiences, do not forget to leave me comments! 😀 Ciao!

XOXO,

Fon

Veniero’s Pasticceria and Caffe’ – East Village
342 E.11th St. NY (between 1st and 2nd ave. – More toward the first)
www.venierospastry.com

So..what do you think? :)

