Awesome Fried Pork with Corn Kernels – A Step Closer to being a Good Housewife

Cooking out Momma’s Dish: Mhoo – Tord – Kao – Poad (Thai for fried pork with corn kernels) 

In Thailand, there is a Thai proverb to live by when you pick a woman to get marry to: “Doo-narng-hai-doo-mae” which translates into something like “You judge a girl from what her mom is like.”

My mom is an awesome woman. She is the oldest sister and is literally the head of her family. She is very simple and laid back but yet, very strong. Among her other awesome qualities is her ability to make awesome food. She is also a big foodie!

I have always tried to carry out that Thai proverb (although many times I know I ashamed my mom – which at this point I strongly suggest guys not using that criteria because I am at times qualified as a bad girl :D) especially through my cooking skill. What I am going to write about now is my interpretation of my mom’s famous dish: Fried pork with corn kernels. Although I am so far from perfecting it, I think it is ok 🙂

Mhoo-tord-khao-poad (Fried pork with corn kernels)

Although it is very easy and simple to make, this dish requires you to marinade the meat (I do mine overnight so that it gets maximum taste.) Let’s take a look at the ingredients:

Serve 2-3 

3/4 pound of minced pork
2/3 of a large fresh corn (I used one whole fresh corn as I ADORE corns). Take the kernels off the cob. I use the knife to cut them out vertically.
1/4 cup of roughly minced coriander
2 tablespoons of oyster sauce (Can be found at supermarket’s ethnic section along side other Chinese condiments)
pepper
2 teaspoons of salt
1 tablespoon of sugar
Vegetable oil for frying 

Step 1: Mix all the ingredients together

Step 2: Marinade the mixture overnight in the refridgerator

As can be seen from the picture, the mixture looks somewhat sticky already

Step 3: Make small patties out of the mixture, make sure they are solid because you don’t want them to break apart when fried.

Step 4: Fry the patties in vegetable oil in low-medium heat until both sides turn somewhat dark brown. Be careful of hot spilled oil because of the corns.

Step 5: Once done, make sure you get rid off excess oil on the patties with paper towel, serve along side of warm jasmine rice.

Voila! Done! 

Ok, if they don’t match your taste preference, it’s not my mom’s fault, it’s mine :). You can adjust the amount of condiments according to your liking. If you make them, give me feedback on how you like it!

Enjoy your kitchen time! 🙂

XXOO, 

Fon

So..what do you think? :)

