Moving Slow, Embracing the Nature, Drinking the Wine on Lake Seneca

Beautiful Lake Seneca l New York’s Premier Wine Country 

After sending off my parents home, I was invited over  by my host parents who came over for my MBA graduation ceremony (I know! I am done! :)) on Lake Seneca – one of the lakes of Finger Lakes. My host mom is a wine lover and she found out about this place through her women’s biking club in Minnesota. After an extensive research and planning, she and my host dad drove twenty hours to be here and I was lucky enough to be invited over and stay a night. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been, and I have been to many, many places.

It is such a shame that I never learnt about this place during my two years of study in Syracuse. It is only 1.5 hours of driving from here. Well, I guess it’s good as I could be having too many wine from there – a dangerous zone for my wallet and my bloodstream!

My host parents found a beautiful and cozy Bed & Breakfast place called Sunrise Landing. It has three rooms for three couples and the owners, Bob and Barb also live here. It has its own access to the lake as shown in the picture.

Lake Seneca’s flora, I had a good time capturing macro shots of these gorgeous flowers.

The ride along the lake is simply gorgeous. There are plenty of vineyards and farmlands. The area is known for its numerous wineries, mostly for its Riesling. You can buy a winery passport that costs $18, which entitle you wine tastings at participating wineries. Each winery offers on average 5-6 kinds of wine for tasting, you pick out of their list. Without the passport, the tasting at each place would cost around $2 per person. Iced wine is not included.

I was trying to be responsible so I was not really tasting any wine, except at Fox Run winery, a local friend recommended the place so I gave in to the place and ended up buying my first bottle of wine, the Arctic Fox. I can’t believe he got me to do that. However, it is a good wine – matches my peculiar taste in wine! (My body cannot do well with really dry and bitter wine – especially red)

I got to visit many wineries, one of them is called Glenora, which is among the oldest winery in the area.


Each winery has different selling point. Some newer wineries opt for something that is more fun, focusing less on tradition and legacy.

Besides wine, most of the wineries also sell knick-knacks, local crafts and food. Of course, New York cheese is there on the list. After all what goes better with wine than cheese?

After a tiring (and tipsy, if not drunk) day, it’s always nice to relax on the lake.

I highly recommend Lake Seneca, New York to anyone who is interested in wine tasting or just simply relaxing under the sun. Happy traveling this summer!

For more information on Lake Seneca Wine Trail: http://www.senecalakewine.com/

 All pictures are copyrighted.

2 responses to “Moving Slow, Embracing the Nature, Drinking the Wine on Lake Seneca

So..what do you think? :)

