Comfort Food for a Cold Day: Taco Soup

Home Cooked Food l The World Famous Healthy and Hearty Taco Soup 

Although spring came rather early this year in Syracuse, a couple days ago we had a terrible wind and temperature went down to 35 F. And yes, there was snow! I decided to make something to warm me up and there is nothing better than the taco soup, the recipe I got from my host mom in Minnesota. I went to see her over spring break and it was the first time i got to taste this world famous taco soup!

It is actually not difficult to make at all. This is the second time I make it and I always make a lot more than I would be able to finish within a couple meals (Also, because I was forced to make so much because I don’t want to keep the can open for unused ingredients). However, it turns out to be good because it gets better every time you heat it up.

Now, onto ingredients: This will make 6-8 servings

1 lbs. lean ground turkey (You can replace this with beef or pork
1/2 cup chopped onions
(2) 28-oz can whole tomatoes with juice
14-oz can kidney beans with juice
(1) 7-oz can corn with juice
(1) 8-oz can no-salt added tomato sauce
4 Tbsp Taco Seasoning Mix (This can be adjusted to your own liking, I don’t like my food to be bland so I put in more – The original recipe only calls for 2 tablespoons)
1-2 cups water
Salt and Pepper to taste
Sour Cream
Green onion tops sliced for garnish
Fat-free grated cheddar and monterrey jack cheese
Taco/corn chips

Step 1: 
Brown turkey and onions in skillet until they are brown.  Drain.

Step 2: 
Combine all ingredients except cheese in slow cooker then  cover and cook on Low 4-6 hours with a slow cooker. ( My host mom was using a slow cooker to make it and her recipe said that the ideal slow cooker size is 4-Quart. I do not have a slow cooker so I let it simmer (low heat) on the stove in a normal pot for about an hour)

Step 4: 

Ladle in bowls. Top with a dab of sour cream, cheddar cheese and green onion tops. Serve Taco/corn chips on the side.

 Well, I happen not to like sour cream so much, so I put in a lot of cheese and corn chips instead!  YUMM!

So..what do you think? :)

