Storytelling Through Photographs : You May Reject the Groom

Storytelling in Photography: What do you see first? The story or the composition?  

I have been learning new things everyday since I started taking pictures with the Nikon. I feel like there is so much to learn I don’t even know where to start. How does one develop a skill to take great pictures? How can a photographer find his/her style? There are so many questions I need answers for.

What do I need to know? Basic photography techniques, how the camera/lens work, picture composition or telling a story?

During my visit to the Rosamond Gifford Zoo in Syracuse over the weekend, while I was taking pictures of the animals, I kind of noticed how my instinct operates. The first thing that came to my mind when I aim to shoot is the story, the composition comes right after that. I guess I got the storytelling part down, but not really the composition, this is something I really would like to work on.

However, sometimes, the story comes when you are not prepared. At that point I guess you have to make do of the equipment that you have on hand, no time to change lens or even the setting of the camera. We might not even have a chance to compose our picture, especially for an amateur like me. This kind of spontaneity excites me.

The fun opportunity for me came at the peacock exhibition. I was shooting away at one of the gorgeous male who was flirting with the cameras, the other male started walking slowly towards the other end of the glass cage where he spotted a plump female peacock. He stopped right behind her – for about five seconds then the seduction and the physical work began…It all happened quickly and these are what I have for that moment 🙂

In the end, the male peacock ended up not getting what he wanted. He was shaking his feathers badly and my guess is that he was frustrated. Well, I think because she hurt his ego lol….

All pictures were taken on a very cold and cloudy at the Rosamond Gifford Zoo in Syracuse, NY with Nikon D5100 and an AF-S VR Micro – Nikkor 105 mm. For other animal pictures from the same album, check out my other post: The Zoo on a Cloudy Day : The Hopes and Dreams of Lives in Captivity

So what are some of your stories and techniques?  Leave me comments 🙂 I would also appreciate any feedback. Have a great day!

One response to “Storytelling Through Photographs : You May Reject the Groom

So..what do you think? :)

