I can’t get enough of Black and White

Black and White Photography l An Excellent Means for Photographers to Convey Emotions

I have always been into black and white photography. The very first photo exhibition I visited was in Vienna, Austria back in 2004. Among all the photos I saw that day, there is only one that I still remember until now. The photo depicts a French couple kissing in front of a cafe. It is simple, it is stunning, it is beautiful, it is black and white, it is by Henri-Cartier-Bresson. This might sound very touristy and cliche’ but I actually bought a postcard of this photo on my visit to Paris in the following summer. Henri’s black and white never left my mind.

During my recent visit to New York City last month, a friend and I were in a mood to visit a museum but we could not decide on which one to go. We were walking aimlessly and we saw this place called the International Center of Photography. My friend is really big in photography so we changed the plan to stop at this place. It turned out to be one of the highlights of my trip. I was blown away by one of the exhibitions that day, Weegee: Murder is My Business. ‘Weegee’ or Arthur Fellig (1899-1968) was an Austrian born son of a Jewish immigrant who grew up poor on the Lower East Side. He was  a photojournalist who was famous for his now-would-be-unorthodox photos of crime scenes. There were no censors. Blood, guts, fear, curiosity, anxiety, and bewilderment were everywhere. And of course, the photos were in black and white. For photos by Weegee, here is a great link to some of his works: http://museum.icp.org/museum/collections/special/weegee/

Followings are my take on Black and White Photography. All were taken with Nikon D5100

I would LOVE to hear your feedback!

Eaten (but not) Alive
Camera: Nikon D5100
Lens: Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 105mm F2.8
Location: Syracuse, New York

The Thing He Must Do
Camera: Nikon D5100
Lens: Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 18-105mm F2.8
Location: Manhattan, New York

Holy Smoke
Camera: Nikon D5100
Lens: Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm F1.8
Location: Syracuse, New York

Man on the Side
Camera: Nikon D5100
Lens: Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm F1.8
Location: Chittenango, New York

Also, for those who would love to see the Weegee: Murder is my Business exhibition, it will be on until September 2, 2012 at the International Center of Photography.
Address:International Center of Photography
1133 Avenue of the Americas at 43rd Street
New York, NY 10036
Web:
http://www.icp.org

For my collection of Black and White Photography please visit my tumblr page

6 responses to “I can’t get enough of Black and White

    • Dear Pixelogist,

      Thank you for stopping by and for following my blog! I find your Lightroom tutorial very helpful, have not had time to go through everything yet but will bookmark it. Also, I am interested in Aperture as well. Which one is better?

      Have a great day!
      Fon

      • thank u too, im glad u found help in my lightroom tutorial.i havent had much experience with Aperture.. i hear its a very capable piece of software.. but i find no necessity to change from lightroom, so i definitely recommend it for this kind of editing 🙂 cheers

  1. Hey kree
    Your photograph taken in black and white are so impress me cause i have never recognized that you got an artist eyes at all ,eventhough i am not an expert but i can feel life and the intention of photographer what she tried to make people understanding on those photos ,the explaination evenmore lifely and self explaination .To be the truth i like colorful photo but your black and white make me fully understand that the heading say you never get enough with black and white is what you really mean .Thanks for let me know this blog ,keep going ,the bright and shine photographer is showing up .

    Mink siri

    • Dear Debra,

      Thank you very much for stopping by. Holy Smoke is my most favorite as well. I am rather new with B&W so there’s still much to learn. As for Weegee, his crime photos are rather brutal but I really find them emotional as if they really speak to me.

      Also, I like your idea of taking a portrait of yourself everyday for a year. Really neat 🙂 Have a great day!

      Fon

So..what do you think? :)

